Member Groups

The Circular Economy 100 brings together members from across the economy to provide unique opportunities for multi-stakeholder collaboration. Member groups include corporates, governments and cities, academic institutions, emerging innovators, small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs) and affiliates.

Pioneer Universities are an international network of higher education institutions developing truly pioneering and innovative circular economy-orientated research and/or teaching programmes.

As non-fee paying members of the CE100 programme they have a formal agreement with the Foundation to commit to driving and supporting relevant and beneficial knowledge exchanges between business and higher education, furthering the collective understanding of the circular economy through insights and skills development. Many of these research and teaching programmes focus on our target disciplines - business, education, design and engineering.

A unique opportunity is also provided to Pioneers to gain significant knowledge of the circular economy through the CE100 programme. The presence of the Pioneer Universities facilitates an exchange of cutting edge ideas and real-world business experience which can offer new solutions or approaches for commercial members and the basis for research academic institutions. Such collaboration aids members and helps progress towards a circular economy.

The Ellen MacArthur Foundation will work with a maximum of 10 universities until 2016.