Schmidt MacArthur Fellowship 2017 winners announced

March 09, 2017

This year’s Schmidt MacArthur Fellowship generated a record amount of interest and after a careful shortlisting and interviewing process, 18 students were selected to join the programme. The 2017 cohort consists of students and their academic mentors from 13 Schmidt MacArthur Fellowship Partner Universities, three from the Ellen MacArthur Foundation’s Pioneer University programme, and two Wild Card winners - from the University of Innsbruck and Network University - University of California Davis.

Summer School Day4 053

Now in its fifth year, the Schmidt MacArthur Fellowship is the only circular economy fellowship programme in the world and is aimed at postgraduate (United States graduate) students studying design, engineering and business. To be considered for the Fellowship, students were tasked with submitting a 90 second audio visual presentation which addressed two questions on the circular economy and was a critical opportunity for applicants to demonstrate their understanding.

I am delighted and excited to be part of the Schmidt MacArthur Fellowship. I am looking forward to this unique and fascinating programme, which gives me the chance to expand my knowledge and deepen my research in the area of the circular economy, as well as connect with other students and universities. I believe that the interdisciplinary nature of the fellowship is an essential accelerator for the circular economy.

- Anna Köhl, University of Innsbruck - Wild Card Winner

The winning students and their mentors will participate in a week long summer school in London, an online learning programme, have the opportunity to develop their own Circular Economy Innovation Project and receive a cash bursary. The year long international programme will officially begin in April 2017 with the online learning programme.

2017 Schmidt MacArthur Fellowship Students:

Christelle Rohaut – University of California Berkeley
Anna Waldman-Brown – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ilaria Rossi – MIP Politecnico di Milano
Yubei Gong – Tongji University
David Pérez Castillo – Tecnológico de Monterrey
Alexander Choksi – London Business School
Daniel Moccia-Field – Yale University
Martin Dugas – KEDGE Business School
Thomas Wastling – Cranfield University
Deborah Sumter – Delft University of Technology
Georgia Parker – Imperial College London
Matteo Maccario – Royal College of Art
Palash Ghawde – National Institute of Design, India
Daniel Guzzo – University of São Paulo
Eve Richer – Arizona State University
Dawne Skinner – University of Bradford
Anna Nicoletta Köhl – University of Innsbruck - 2017 Wild Card Winner
Natalie Popovich – University of California Davis - 2017 Wild Card Winner

We have detected that you are using an older browser. Please update to the latest version of Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Microsoft Edge to improve your user experience.

If you are unable to upgrade your browser, please see our Technical FAQ page to get tips on how to improve your user experience.